Question 1:  A resume is…

a: 
An autobiography of one’s career life and professional experiences in order to secure employment.
b: 
A detailed listing of a job candidate’s skills, experiences, responsibilities and achievements as these relate to the position and company being targeted.
c: 
A complete listing of an individual’s education, work experience and professional training.


Question 2:  The purpose of a resume is to…

a: 
Establish a candidate’s qualifications for a position in order to secure an interview.
b: 
Establish a candidate’s qualifications for a position in order to secure employment.
c: 
Establish a candidate’s qualifications for a position in order to eliminate the competition.


Question 3:  The length of a resume must be…

a: 
One page, no longer.
b: 
Two pages, no longer.
c: 
Whatever number of pages is necessary to qualify the candidate.


Question 4:  The most important information on my resume is…

a: 
Job experience and education.
b: 
Contact information.
c: 
Achievements.


Question 5:  It’s okay to exaggerate information on my resume when…

a: 
I’m writing about older, less important positions and need to make my career path more logical.
b: 
I was shy of completing a degree by only a few credits – and a degree is a requirement of the position.
c: 
It’s never okay to exaggerate information in a resume.


Question 6:  When writing my resume, my main focus should be on…

a: 
Who will be reading my resume.
b: 
Presenting my best skills, experiences and achievements in priority.
c: 
The readability and visual presentation of my document.


Question 7:  When submitting my resume to a job advertisement, I need to make certain that…

a: 
I provide as many options for retrieving my resume as possible (ASCII, PDF, Word processed document, etc.).
b: 
I follow the directions of the ad explicitly.
c: 
I secure the name of the hiring manager or decision maker.


Question 8:  When salary history is required in an ad, I should…

a: 
Ignore the request. This information may damage my ability to compete for the position.
b: 
Include this information in its own document and submit it with my resume.
c: 
Include this information in the cover letter.


Question 9:  When salary requirements are requested in an ad, I should…

a: 
Address this in my resume and provide a specific salary amount.
b: 
Ignore the request. Salary requirements are best discussed at the interview stage.
c: 
Address this in my cover letter by providing a salary range or by indicating that salary is negotiable.


Question 10:  Certain personal information needs to be included in the resume, such as…

a: 
My name and contact information.
b: 
My name, contact information and date of birth.
c: 
My name, contact information, date of birth and number of dependents.


Question 11:  A potential employer is permitted to ask me the date(s) of my __________________ graduation, and, therefore, I should include this/these date(s) on my resume. 

a: 
high school
b: 
high school and college
c: 
college


Question 12:  Posting my resume on a job search database online will make my resume available to:

a: 
Potential employers.
b: 
Only those ads to which I respond.
c: 
Almost anyone, including my current employer.

